Useful contacts

Use your student email address

You should use your student email address when you need to contact administrative and academic staff. Staff will often use your Manchester email as a quick and easy means of communication.

To receive your own student.manchester.ac.uk email address you need to activate your IT account.

You will be notified of the detailed arrangements for delivery of messages and other written material to Course Unit Directors and other academic staff within lectures at the beginning of the first semester. The Course Unit Directors will provide you with the names and location of the seminar staff for their course. Staff are not in every day as their research commitments frequently take them out of Manchester.

Contacting staff

If you need to see a member of staff, please send an email, leave a message giving your telephone number, or you can sign-up for an appointment on the office hours schedules displayed outside the staff office doors.

You can find staff email addresses, telephone numbers and their location on the staff directory.

The administrative staff cannot take messages for students. Please ensure that friends, family, potential employers, the Careers Service and anyone else who may need to contact you either has your semester-time telephone number, email address and/or postal address or that they contact you in writing via the School, in which case we will email you to come and pick the correspondence up from Alliance MBS room 2.091.

Academic Staff

Director of undergraduate studies - Dr Jonathan Styles

Provides academic leadership for the undergraduate area, specifically developing and overseeing the implementation of strategic academic plans and taking these forward through the Committee structure.

Programme directors

Provide overall academic insight for a programme, liaising with the admissions tutors on admissions policy, ensuring that each year of a programme contains appropriate material and monitoring the output and final destination of graduates from the programme.

The Programme Directors for undergraduate programmes at Alliance MBS are:

BSc Accounting – Reimi Sivalingam
Room 4.061 AMBS
Email: reimala.sivalingam@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 0429 or extension 50429

BSc International Business, Finance and Economics – Dr Chris Godfrey
Room 4.073 AMBS
Email: christopher.godfrey@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 4298 or extension 54298

BSc Information Technology Management for Business – Dr Grigory Pishchulov
Room 3.066 AMBS
Email: grigory.pishchulov@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 0433 or extension 50433

BSc International Management with American Business Studies and BSc in International Management – Dr Eunice Maytorena-sanchez
Room 7.019 AMBS
Email: Eunice.Maytorena-sanchez@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 3405 or extension 63405

BSc Management/Management (Specialism) – Dr Matthew McCaffrey
Room 8.047 AMBS
Email: matthew.mccaffrey@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 5951 or extension 55951

BSc Business Accounting – Dr Claire Levison
Room 5.034
Email: claire.levison@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Course Unit Directors

Responsible for the design and development of the course, coordinating the teaching arrangements and monitoring the quality, and provide the first point of contact to discuss any issues you may have relating to the course.

If experience an issue, speak first to the Course Unit Director. The names of the Course Unit Directors are provided within the course unit outline available in My Manchester.

You should also be able to find details of Course Unit Directors on the course Blackboard space (accessed via My Manchester) within the Full Course Outlines.

Professional services staff

Alliance MBS Programme Activities Team

Focuses on the day-to-day administration of the undergraduate degree programmes and can help you with information on most aspects of your general academic progress and personal welfare, and assist you with information about individual courses.

The Senior UG Programme Officer for all Alliance MBS undergraduate programmes is Viv Browne, who is located in AMBS 2.091. Viv and her team are also the Alliance MBS administrative contact for the BMaP suite of courses.

Vivien Browne
Email: vivien.browne@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 4010

Viv is supported by the programme administration team:

Rosie White - BSc/BA in International Business, Finance and Economics (IBFE) programme and BMaP course administration
Email: rosie.white@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 4011

Will Lever - BSc Management and International programmes
Email: William.lever@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 2217

Dominika Huterova - BSc Accounting and BSc Information Technology Management for Business
Email: dominika.huterova@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 3402

Sally Hamilton - BSc Business Accounting
Email: sally.hamilton@manchester.ac.uk 

All of the team provide support on the BSc Management / Management (specialisms) programme.

The team is available to help students from Monday to Friday between 10am and 4.00pm. Please go to the main undergraduate enquiries office, AMBS 2.091 or contact them on 0161 306 3400 or at undergrad.ambs@manchester.ac.uk

Student Support and Guidance Team (SSG)

The Team offers advice, guidance and support on any issues that may affect your ability to study and can also signpost you to other support services within the University.

The SSG team is based in AMBS 2.091. The office is open to students to either drop in or by appointment.

Rashida Timol, Student Support and Guidance Manager
Email: rashida.timol@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 3453 

Kaz Naseem, Senior Student Support Officer
Email: kaz.naseem@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 8989

Nula Mathers, Senior Student Support Officer (Academic Advising)
Email: nula.mathers@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 7377

Pauliina Ketola, Student Support and Engagement Officer
Email: pauliina.ketola@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0131 306 1331

Gary Halliwell, Student Support Assistant
Email: gary.halliwell@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 0787

Tara Bhatia - Disability Co-ordinator and Student Support Officer
Email: tara.bhatia@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 7377

Dagme Tesfaye - Student Support Assistant
Email: dagme.tesfaye@manchester.ac.uk

Jade Laverick - Student Support Assistant
Email: jade.laverick@manchester.ac.uk

Industrial Experience and International Exchange

Our undergraduate programme team support Programme Directors and the Director of Undergraduate Studies in relation to the arrangements for all students undertaking either a third year abroad (on BSc International Management and BSc International Management with American Business Studies) or a full year work placement.

Andrew Walker supports the exchange and Svetlana Gannon co-ordinates the industrial experience. Annie Gorchilova works alongside both and all are located in AMBS 2.036a.

Andrew Walker, MSc & UG International Exchange Officer
Email: andrew.walker-3@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 3503

Svetlana Gannon, Industrial Placement and Employability Officer
Email: svetlana.gannon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 0950

Annie Gorchilova, International and Placement Officer
Email: anna-maria.gorchilova@manchester.ac.uk

Assessment Team

The arrangements for the School's undergraduate examinations and other forms of assessment are handled by the Assessment team and their office is located in AMBS 2.092d.

Helen Derbyshire, Assessment Manager
Email: helen.derbyshire@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 7251

TBC, Senior Assessment Officer

Samina Ali, Assessment Administrator
Email: samina.ali@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 306 3409

Stephen Souness, Assessment Administrator
Email: stephen.souness@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 0161 275 6419

Ecem Yalcin, Assessment Administrator
Email: ecem.yalcin@manchester.ac.uk
0161 275 6451

Jane Collinge, Assessment Administrator
Email: jane.collinge@manchester.ac.uk
0161 275 2823

Jordan Shipman, Assessment Assistant
Email: jordan.shipman@manchester.ac.uk
0161 306 2075

Other UG Professional Support Services contacts

Ben Goldblum, Head of Teaching, Learning and Student Experience
AMBS 1.005

Jenny Brown, MSc and UG Taught Programmes Manager
AMBS 2.092g

Chris McGlinchey, Programme Activities Manager
AMBS 2.092g

Kathryn Nicholls, Senior Admissions Officer
AMBS 2.094

All staff email addresses, telephone numbers and locations can be accessed through the staff directory.